Skip to main content
Go to UW-Stout website

University Library

Robert S. Swanson Library and Learning Center

Textbooks Archives
Today's Hours:
 
Search@UW Search for Articles, Books, Media and More

Map and Tour (First Floor): First Floor

Circulation Desk

The Circulation Desk has someone at the desk during the Library's open hours

 

Stop at the Circulation Desk to:

  • Checkout AV equipment, laptop computers, digital cameras, LCD projection units, books, and other media from the library's circulating collection.  Your Stout ID card is required to check out materials.
  • Place holds on items that are checked out so you can use them when they are returned.
  • Request searches for missing items.

 

 

Help Desk

The Access to Learning Desk has someone at the desk during the Library's open hours

Technology-trained student workers staff the Help Desk.  They help you with:

  • Printing
  • Computer Issues
  • Scanning and scanner issues
  • Software use
  • Photocopying
  • Email-related questions
  • Direct you to the librarian on-call

Look for students with the blue library vests to ask for help throughout the library.

 

Computer Stations and Stout Library Catalog

The workstations are positioned throughout the library for public use

 

Computers in the library have Internet and keyserver software access.

For information searching, start at the Library Home Page;

  • Search Search@UW for books and AV materials.
  • Search the Articles/Databases to identify magazine, journal, and newspaper articles on specific subjects.  Many articles are available full-text online.

 

Printing Stations

Printers on the first floor of the lobby for patron use

The Library has centralized network printing, also available through wireless connectivity.

  • All library computers send print jobs to the printing stations by the Help Desk
  • Laptop users will need to add these printers to their laptop.

Printers available: 2 black and white (10 cents a copy) and 1 color (20 cents a copy).

Payment: Stout ID with a Flexline account or community users may purchase a print card.

 

Scanners

The KIC scanner is available in the printing area on the first floor.

 

 

Scanners are available for document and image scanning.

A high speed multi-page scanner is useful for students creating e-portfolios.

Photo-manipulation software is available on the accompanying computers.

 

Reference Collection

The reference material is located on the first floor of the library

 

When searching Search@UW, some items may have to location REFERENCE.

The Reference collection includes subject specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries, statistical information, handbooks, atlases, style manuals, etc.

Reference materials cannot be removed from the Library.

 

Open Reserve

Shelves that are reserved for material requested by students or staff

 

 

Instructors may place materials for in-library use for specific classes in the Open Reserve section of Reference Area.

  • Library materials: use Search@UW -- select the Course Reserves tab to identify a call number to locate on the shelf.
  • Non-Library materials (photocopies of articles, there own books, etc.) -- look for a box with the instructor's name on it.

 

Standup Stations

Computers on the stand up stations in the Reference Area

 

 

Two computers are available for walk up printing in the Library.  A VTS station is available where students can add funds to their campus cards.  The Library uses FlexBase+ for printing charges.

 

Information Commons

Study booths on the first floor of the library

 

 

The Help Desk is centrally located in the Information Commons so staff can assist with your information and research needs.

  • Comfortable seating is available for laptop use.
  • Use this area for individual and/or group study

 

Group Study Areas

Group study rooms that are located along the back wall of the library

Near the Instruction Lab along the hallways are group study rooms that allow for small-group discussion and collaborative learning.  They are not intended for individual study.

First floor study rooms are equipped with whiteboards which allow you to practice for classroom presentations and laptop collaborative screens.

Group study room users will need to check out a remote control for the screen at the Circulation Desk.

There are additional group study rooms on fourth and fifth floors.

 

Library Instruction Lab

Library Learning Lab

 

This room is primarily for library instruction, arranged by classroom instructors.  Librarians teach research sessions on using Search@UW, Articles/Databases, and other information resources.  When not used for library instruction, this area is open for student use or other possible use as outlined in the Library Instruction Lab Use Guidelines

 

 

Exhibit Area and Lounge

Lounge and Exhibit area within the Library

An exhibit area is located in the main lobby of the library.  There are special exhibits for library-related events: Banned Book Week, Children's Book Week, National Library Week, etc.

The exhibit space is also available to campus groups and can be reserved at the library's administrative office (Room 220).

A nice place to wait for your group or study buddy.

 

New Items Shelves

New item shelves located in the lobby of the Library

 

 

New books, comics and media are available at the New Items bookshelf.  look to see what has arrived this week - check it out and be the first to read it.

 

Vending Machines

Vending machines next to Disability Services on the first floor of the Library

 

 

 

Vending machines are located in the hallway near room 120.

 

Browsing Area

Browsing Area on the First Floor of Library

 

The Browsing Area contains:

  • Best seller books
  • Feature films, Documentaries and Non-fiction items on DVD and Blu-Ray
  • Video Games
  • Audiobooks

The area also has comfortable seating for reading, studying and relaxing