Skip to main content
Go to UW-Stout website

University Library

Robert S. Swanson Library and Learning Center

Textbooks Archives
Today's Hours:
 

Search@UW Search for Articles, Books, Media and More

Map and Tour (Second Floor): Second Floor

Current Newspapers and Magazines

The Periodical collection is located on the Second Floor

 

The collection has the last two years of all the current library print newspaper and magazine subscriptions.  The remaining backfile periodicals (magazines/newspapers/journals) are located on 4th Floor South in the Print Periodicals (journals) collection.

The library provides access to over 100,000 periodical titles, millions of articles, through its electronic library databases.  To search please use Search@UW.

 

Scanners

The scanner is located on the west end of the library

 

A scanner is available for capturing photos and text in magazines and newspapers.

Scanning is free.

Bring your Stout One card for printing.

Other equipment such as staplers, scissors, etc. are also located along the wall.

 

Educational Materials Center (EMC)

We have a large selection within our Educational Materials Center collection

The EMC is an active learning space and has ten major collections that support the teacher education programs at UW-Stout.

  • EMC Juvenile Fiction collection
  • EMC Juvenile Non-Fiction collection
  • EMC Textbook collection
  • EMC Young Adult Fiction collection
  • EMC Young Adult Non-Fiction collection
  • EMC Board Books collection
  • EMC Puppets collection
  • EMC Kits collection
  • EMC Periodicals collection

Materials in the EMC can be checked out at the Circulation Desk on the first floor of the library.

 

Comic and Graphic Novels (CGN)

The comics and graphic novels collection on the Second Floor

 

The Comics and Graphic Novels (CGN) collection is located on the 2nd floor North next to the library's Makerspace.  An active learning space the CGN collection consists of five major collections.

  • Comics and Graphic Novels (fiction and non-fiction) collection.
  • CGN - Manga collection
  • CGN - Professional collection
  • CGN - Oversize collection

Materials from the CGN collection can be checked out at the Circulation Desk on the first floor of the library.

 

Makerspace

The makerspace is located in the Northwest corner on the Second Floor

 

The library's Makerspace is located on the 2nd floor North near the Comics and Graphic Novels collection.  The space consists of four drafting tables, special lighting, a guillotine cutter and large cutting table to help students work, collaborate and create.  Art creation supplies are available for check-out from the first floor Circulation Desk including Ames Lettering Guides, templates, drawing boards, cutting mats, scissors, X-Acto knives, light tables, rulers, and T-rulers.