Robert S. Swanson Library and Learning CenterTextbooks Archives
The collections of the UW-Stout Library support the mission of the library and the university to provide innovative, dynamic, and holistic collections that support the teaching, learning, research, and leisure information needs of UW-Stout stakeholders. The physical library collections are managed with the user in mind and are intended to co-exist with library e-resources. The library uses a “Collaborative Collections” concept, which means the collections and the library spaces work together to promote use of the collections, collaboration, and learning.
The library’s general book collection and largest physical collection. The books are organized by Library of Congress Classification (LLC). The Main Collection and is located on floors 3, 4, 5.
The EMC supports the Pre-K through 12 teacher education programs of the university and consists of five major collections: Juvenile, Young Adult, Text, Kit, Puppet and EMC Periodicals. The EMC is located on the second floor.
The CGN collection supports the School of Art and Design and the English and Philosophy Department and provides access to thousands of books and has three major collections: Comics and Graphic Novels (general), Manga and CGN Professional. The books are organized alphabetically by primary writer/author/creator. The CGN Collection is located on the second floor adjacent to the library’s Makerspace.
This collection provides access to popular fiction and non-fiction titles. The collection is routinely updated, and older books are moved to the Main Collection annually. This high-use collection is located in the Popular Collections area on the first floor.
The Audiobooks collection contains a selection of popular and classic fiction and non-fiction titles. This collection is located in the Popular Collections area on the first floor.
The DVDs and Blu-rays are divided into two major collections: Movies & TV (organized alphabetically by title) and Documentaries and Non-Fiction Videos (organized by Library of Congress Classification LLC). The collections are located in the Popular Collections area on the first floor.
This dynamic collection of over 1,200 titles consists of games from the major video gaming consoles including PS4, PS3, PSVR, XBOX One, XBOX 360, Nintendo Switch, Wii U, and Wii. The collections are organized by video gaming system and then by title. The Video Games collection is located in the Popular Collections area on the first floor.
This collection is intended to be used with the vintage gaming consoles in the library’s Gaming and Digital Innovation (GDI) Lab and is located behind the Circulation Desk on first floor. To view which games are available, search the binders in the GDI Lab and bring the card to the circulation desk to check out the game. In-building use only.
The Stout Authors collection consists of published books by UW-Stout faculty, staff, students and alumni. The collection is located on Third Floor South near the Civil Liberties collection.
The Civil Liberties collection is a newly developed collection made possible by a grant from the Center for the Study of Institutions and Innovation (CSII) that focuses on civil liberties issues and topics. The collection is located on 3rd Floor South near the Stout Authors collection.
This collection provides resources which aim to support instructional development. It began in 2021 with the transfer of The UW-Stout, Nakatani Teaching and Learning Center (NTLC) private library. The NTLC and the University Library are committed to continuous growth of this collection.
This Periodicals collection is split into two distinct collections. The Current Newspapers and Periodicals collection has two years of all the current library print newspaper and magazine subscriptions. It is located on second floor near the Comics and Graphic Novels collection. The Print Periodicals collection, which consists of backfile and older runs of physical journals and magazines is located on fourth floor North.
The library provides access to broad array of e-resources including streaming videos, e-books, and articles/e-databases. To find and access this great collection of e-resources use Search@UW or visit the library’s Streaming Videos page, E-Books page, or Databases A to Z page.
Collection Development Librarian
Office: 321-A Robert S. Swanson and Learning Center