Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Services for Community and Alumni
Alumni and members of the community are welcome to utilize the University Library as a public facility with the purpose of supporting research and scholarship. Please see Library User Rights and Responsibilities.
Community Card Eligibility
Cards are issued only to individuals.
You must be:
- 18 years or older living or working in the following counties:
- Dunn, Barron, Chippewa, Eau Claire, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, St. Croix
- UW-Stout Alumni, and retired Faculty and Staff.
- Menomonie High School "A" Honor Roll students.
- Current Wisconsin driver's license or Wisconsin identification card AND a piece of mail with your current address.
- A valid email address
Community Card holders are expected to observe all current circulation rules applicable to the UW-Stout community. Contact the circulation desk at 715-232-1215 for assistance.
Community Card holders may borrow a maximum of 15 items at a time.
- Main Stacks and Browsing Area books have a 28-day loan period.
- EMC materials have a 28-day loan period.
- DVD's and games have a 14-day loan period.
- Each item may be granted one renewal.
- Equipment may only be checked out to current students and staff.
The following may be used within the University Library but may not be checked out of the University Library:
- Reference material
- Periodicals and newspapers
- Gaming equipment and headphones (request these at circulation desk).
Interlibrary Loan is only available to current students and staff. Contact your local public library.
Visiting the Library
You may use the one community computer near the help desk on the 1st floor. Ask at the front desk for assistance. Computer use is limited to one hour; especially if others are waiting. For further information please refer to the Computer Use Policies.
Information for Alumni
You may apply for a community card to check out material from the library.
You do not have access to our licensed databases from outside the library. See "Research Tools" for some other options.
Giving to the library: Your contribution, endowment, or donation enhances services, programs, and collections.
- UW-Stout Thesis
- Theses submitted from 1998 on are available full-text on the web. This link is to the instructions for searching the Stout Library Catalog for theses.
- Digital Collections
- View digital versions of Stoutonia and other Stout publications.
- Archival Donations
- Do you have mementos from your time at Stout? The Archives would love to know more about them! Contact Archivist Heather Stecklein (715) 232-5418 or email@example.com for more information on donating pieces of Stout history to the University Archives.
- Research Appointments
Contact a Librarian for any questions by using Ask a Librarian.
- Search to identify books, movies and other items at the UW-Stout University Library
- Alumni/Community members only have access to physical library items. Contact your local public library for more resources.
Access to Databases
- Subscription Library Databases:
- The University Library subscribes to over 200 licensed databases. These can be accessed from a designated library computer.
- Wisconsin Residents:
- Badgerlink, access articles that are funded by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction for Wisconsin residents.
- Minnesota Residents:
- MnLINK, access articles that are funded in part by the State of Minnesota.
- Check your local public library's digital collections