Introduction
Welcome to the UW-Stout disability and accessibility services centered library guide.
At UW-Stout, part of our commitment to equity, diversity, and inclusion includes supporting opportunities for self-directed learning and growth. This guide is designed to assist the UW-Stout community and beyond with their study and understanding of individuals with visible and invisible disabilities as well as the deep history of ableism and disability pride and activism within the United States and in international contexts.
This guide was created in collaboration of UW-Stout faculty, staff, and students. This group recognizes the guide is not exhaustive, and new and relevant material is being created and published daily and it is impossible to include everything. The global history of discrimination and oppression of individuals with disabilities spans centuries and continues to persist to this day.
This guide includes items in the UW-Stout library catalog and links to credible outside resources to help you educate and challenge yourself.
This compilation will evolve over time, just like we aim to and just like you can, to keep equity, diversity, and inclusion at the forefront here at UW-Stout and beyond. We encourage recommendations to add to the guide. Recommendations should be emailed to library@uwstout.edu. As many terms that used to be acceptable referencing disability and accessibility services are now outdated or offensive, some of our resources may also become outdated. If you have a suggestion or a concern about a resource in this guide, please email library@uwstout.edu and we will review your concerns.
Autobiographies/Memoirs
Academic Ableism: Disability and Higher Education by
Academic Ableism brings together disability studies and institutional critique to recognize the ways that disability is composed in and by higher education, and rewrites the spaces, times, and economies of disability in higher education to place disability front and center. For too long, argues Jay Timothy Dolmage, disability has been constructed as the antithesis of higher education, often positioned as a distraction, a drain, a problem to be solved. The ethic of higher education encourages students and teachers alike to accentuate ability, valorize perfection, and stigmatize anything that hints at intellectual, mental, or physical weakness, even as we gesture toward the value of diversity and innovation. Examining everything from campus accommodation processes, to architecture, to popular films about college life, Dolmage argues that disability is central to higher education, and that building more inclusive schools allows better education for all.
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: LC4818.38 .D66 2017 4th Floor, Main Collection and EbookISBN: 9780472073719Publication Date: 2017-11-22
Authoring Autism: On Rhetoric and Neurological Queerness by
In Authoring Autism Melanie Yergeau defines neurodivergence as an identity--neuroqueerness--rather than an impairment. Using a queer theory framework, Yergeau notes the stereotypes that deny autistic people their humanity and the chance to define themselves while also challenging cognitive studies scholarship and its reification of the neurological passivity of autistics. She also critiques early intensive behavioral interventions--which have much in common with gay conversion therapy--and questions the ableist privileging of intentionality and diplomacy in rhetorical traditions. Using storying as her method, she presents an alternative view of autistic rhetoricity by foregrounding the cunning rhetorical abilities of autistics and by framing autism as a narrative condition wherein autistics are the best-equipped people to define their experience. Contending that autism represents a queer way of being that simultaneously embraces and rejects the rhetorical, Yergeau shows how autistic people queer the lines of rhetoric, humanity, and agency. In so doing, she demonstrates how an autistic rhetoric requires the reconceptualization of rhetoric's very essence.
Call Number: RC553.A88 Y474 2018 4th Floor, Main CollectionISBN: 9780822370116Publication Date: 2018-01-05
Beasts of Burden: Animal and Disability Liberation by
2018 American Book Award Winner A beautifully written, deeply provocative inquiry into the intersection of animal and disability liberation--and the debut of an important new social critic How much of what we understand of ourselves as "human" depends on our physical and mental abilities--how we move (or cannot move) in and interact with the world? And how much of our definition of "human" depends on its difference from "animal"? Drawing on her own experiences as a disabled person, a disability activist, and an animal advocate, author Sunaura Taylor persuades us to think deeply, and sometimes uncomfortably, about what divides the human from the animal, the disabled from the nondisabled--and what it might mean to break down those divisions, to claim the animal and the vulnerable in ourselves, in a process she calls "cripping animal ethics." Beasts of Burden suggests that issues of disability and animal justice--which have heretofore primarily been presented in opposition--are in fact deeply entangled. Fusing philosophy, memoir, science, and the radical truths these disciplines can bring--whether about factory farming, disability oppression, or our assumptions of human superiority over animals--Taylor draws attention to new worlds of experience and empathy that can open up important avenues of solidarity across species and ability. Beasts of Burden is a wonderfully engaging and elegantly written work, both philosophical and personal, by a brilliant new voice.
Call Number: HV4708 .T395 2017 5th Floor, Main CollectionISBN: 9781620971284Publication Date: 2017-03-07
Being Heumann: An Unrepentant Memoir of a Disability Rights Activist by
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year for Nonfiction "...an essential and engaging look at recent disability history."-- Buzzfeed One of the most influential disability rights activists in US history tells her personal story of fighting for the right to receive an education, have a job, and just be human. A story of fighting to belong in a world that wasn't built for all of us and of one woman's activism--from the streets of Brooklyn and San Francisco to inside the halls of Washington--Being Heumann recounts Judy Heumann's lifelong battle to achieve respect, acceptance, and inclusion in society. Paralyzed from polio at eighteen months, Judy's struggle for equality began early in life. From fighting to attend grade school after being described as a "fire hazard" to later winning a lawsuit against the New York City school system for denying her a teacher's license because of her paralysis, Judy's actions set a precedent that fundamentally improved rights for disabled people. As a young woman, Judy rolled her wheelchair through the doors of the US Department of Health, Education, and Welfare in San Francisco as a leader of the Section 504 Sit-In, the longest takeover of a governmental building in US history. Working with a community of over 150 disabled activists and allies, Judy successfully pressured the Carter administration to implement protections for disabled peoples' rights, sparking a national movement and leading to the creation of the Americans with Disabilities Act. Candid, intimate, and irreverent, Judy Heumann's memoir about resistance to exclusion invites readers to imagine and make real a world in which we all belong.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: JC571 .H49 2020 4th Floor, Main Collection and EbookISBN: 9780807019290Publication Date: 2020-02-25
The Body Keeps the Score by
A pioneering researcher and one of the world's foremost experts on traumatic stress offers a bold new paradigm for healing Trauma is a fact of life. Veterans and their families deal with the painful aftermath of combat; one in five Americans has been molested; one in four grew up with alcoholics; one in three couples have engaged in physical violence. Such experiences inevitably leave traces on minds, emotions, and even on biology. Sadly, trauma sufferers frequently pass on their stress to their partners and children. Renowned trauma expert Bessel van der Kolk has spent over three decades working with survivors. In The Body Keeps the Score, he transforms our understanding of traumatic stress, revealing how it literally rearranges the brain's wiring--specifically areas dedicated to pleasure, engagement, control, and trust. He shows how these areas can be reactivated through innovative treatments including neurofeedback, mindfulness techniques, play, yoga, and other therapies. Based on Dr. van der Kolk's own research and that of other leading specialists, The Body Keeps the Score offers proven alternatives to drugs and talk therapy--and a way to reclaim lives.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: RC552.P67 V358 2014 4th Floor, Main Collection and EbookISBN: 9780670785933Publication Date: 2014-09-25
Born on a Blue Day: Inside the Extraordinary Mind of an Autistic Savant by
"Born on a Blue Day" is a journey into one of the most fascinating minds alive today -- guided by its owner himself. Daniel Tammet sees numbers as shapes, colors, and textures, and he can perform extraordinary calculations in his head. He can learn to speak new languages fluently, from scratch, in a week. In 2004, he memorized and recited more than 22,000 digits of pi, setting a record. He has savant syndrome, an extremely rare condition that gives him almost unimaginable mental powers, much like those portrayed by Dustin Hoffman in the film "Rain Man." Daniel has a compulsive need for order and routine -- he eats the same precise amount of cereal for breakfast every morning and cannot leave the house without counting the number of items of clothing he's wearing. When he gets stressed or is unhappy, he closes his eyes and counts. But in one crucial way Daniel is not at all like the Rain Man: he is virtually unique among people who have sev- ere autistic disorders in that he is capable of living a fully independent life. He has emerged from the "other side" of autism with the ability to function successfully -- he is even able to explain what is happening inside his head. "Born on a Blue Day" is a triumphant and uplifting story, starting from early childhood, when Daniel was incapable of making friends and prone to tantrums, to young adulthood, when he learned how to control himself and to live independently, fell in love, experienced a religious conversion to Christianity, and most recently, emerged as a celebrity. The world's leading neuroscientists have been studying Daniel's ability to solvecomplicated math problems in one fell swoop by seeing shapes rather than making step-by-step calculations. Here he explains how he does it, and how he is able to learn new languages so quickly, simply by absorbing their patterns. Fascinating and inspiring, "Born on a Blue Day" explores what it's like to be special and gives us an insight into what makes us all human -- our minds.
Call Number: RC553.A88 T36 2007 4th Floor, Main CollectionISBN: 1416535071Publication Date: 2007-01-09
Capitalism and Disability: Selected Writings by
Spread out over many years and many different publications, the late author and activist Marta Russell wrote a number of groundbreaking and insightful essays on the nature of disability and oppression under capitalism. In this volume, Russell's various essays are brought together in one place in order to provide a useful and expansive resource to those interested in better understanding the ways in which the modern phenomenon of disability is shaped by capitalist economic and social relations. The essays range in analysis from the theoretical to the topical, including but not limited to: the emergence of disability as a "human category" rooted in the rise of industrial capitalism and the transformation of the conditions of work, family, and society corresponding thereto; a critique of the shortcomings of a purely "civil rights approach" to addressing the persistence of disability oppression in the economic sphere, with a particular focus on the legacy of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990; an examination of the changing position of disabled people within the overall system of capitalist production utilizing the Marxist economic concepts of the reserve army of the unemployed, the labor theory of value, and the exploitation of wage-labor; the effects of neoliberal capitalist policies on the living conditions and social position of disabled people as it pertains to welfare, income assistance, health care, and other social security programs; imperialism and war as a factor in the further oppression and immiseration of disabled people within the United States and globally; and the need to build unity against the divisive tendencies which hide the common economic interest shared between disabled people and the often highly-exploited direct care workers who provide services to the former.
Call Number: HV1553 .R86 2019 5th Floor, Main CollectionISBN: 9781608467198Publication Date: 2019-08-06
Care Work by
Finalist, Judy Grahn Award for Lesbian Nonfiction In their new, long-awaited collection of essays, Lambda Literary Award-winning writer and longtime disability justice activist and performance artist Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha explores the politics and realities of disability justice, a movement that centres the lives and leadership of sick and disabled queer, trans, Black, and brown people, with knowledge and gifts for all. Leah writes passionately and personally about creating spaces by and for sick and disabled queer people of colour, and creative "collective access" -- access not as a chore but as a collective responsibility and pleasure -- in our communities and political movements. Bringing their survival skills and knowledge from years of cultural and activist work, Piepzna-Samarasinha explores everything from the economics of queer femme emotional labour, to suicide in queer and trans communities, to the nitty-gritty of touring as a sick and disabled queer artist of colour. Care Work is a mapping of access as radical love, a celebration of the work that sick and disabled queer/people of colour are doing to find each other and to build power and community, and a toolkit for everyone who wants to build radically resilient, sustainable communities of liberation where no one is left behind. Powerful and passionate, Care Work is a crucial and necessary call to arms.
Call Number: HV1568 .P54 2018 5th Floor, Main CollectionISBN: 1551527383Publication Date: 2018-10-30
Claiming Disability: Knowledge and Identity by
A comprehensive assessment of the field of Disability Studies that presents beyond the medical to dig into the meaning From public transportation and education to adequate access to buildings, the social impact of disability has been felt everywhere since the passage of the Americans with Disabilities Act in 1990. And a remarkable groundswell of activism and critical literature has followed in this wake. Claiming Disability is the first comprehensive examination of Disability Studies as a field of inquiry. Disability Studies is not simply about the variations that exist in human behavior, appearance, functioning, sensory acuity, and cognitive processing but the meaning we make of those variations. With vivid imagery and numerous examples, Simi Linton explores the divisions society creates--the normal versus the pathological, the competent citizen versus the ward of the state. Map and manifesto, Claiming Disability overturns medicalized versions of disability and establishes disabled people and their allies as the rightful claimants to this territory.
Call Number: HV1568.2 .L55 1998 5th Floor, Main CollectionISBN: 0814751334Publication Date: 1998-01-01
Crippled: Austerity and the Demonization of Disabled People by
The austerity crisis and threat to disability rights In austerity Britain, disabled people have been recast as worthless scroungers. From social care to the benefits system, politicians and the media alike have made the case that Britain's 12 million disabled people are nothing but a drain on the public purse. In Crippled, journalist and campaigner Frances Ryan exposes the disturbing reality, telling the stories of those most affected by this devastating regime. It is at once both a damning indictment of a safety net so compromised it strangles many of those it catches and a passionate demand for an end to austerity, which hits hardest those most in need.
Call Number: HV1568 .R936 2020 1st Floor, Popular BooksISBN: 9781786637888Publication Date: 2019-06-11
Design and Use of Assistive Technology by
Design and Use of Assistive Technology assesses major hurdles in the design and use of assistive technologies, while also providing guidelines and recommendations to improve these technologies. This volume takes an interdisciplinary approach to solving the major issues surrounding designing and using assistive technologies for the physically impaired by blending engineering, computer science and medicine. The most difficult problems in assistive technologies, such as privacy concerns in data gathering and analysis, inherent heterogeneity of the user population, knowledge transfer of novel technologies and incorporation of the user perspective into the design process are all addressed. The book also:-Presents theories on assistive technology through the lens of fields ranging from engineering and computer science to occupational therapy and neurology-Discusses assistive technologies in a broad scope that presents designs and theories that are universally applicableDesign and Use of Assistive Technology features contributions from experts in their subject areas who discuss specific methods and mechanisms to integrate the user's experience into design and clinical evaluation in order to both create academic outreach through practical service models and improve knowledge transfer.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: HV1569.5 .D47 2010 5th Floor, Main Collection and EbookISBN: 9781441970305Publication Date: 2010-10-06
Disability and Passing: Blurring the Lines of Identity by
Why passing is a crucial concept in disability studies
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: HV1568 .D5634 2013 5th Floor, Main Collection and EbookISBN: 9781439909799Publication Date: 2013-05-17
Disability Harassment by
Building on the insights of both disability studies and civil rights scholars, Mark C. Weber frames his examination of disability harassment on the premise that disabled people are members of a minority group that must negotiate an artificial yet often damaging environment of physical and attitudinal barriers. The book considers courts' approaches to the problem of disability harassment, particularly the application of an analogy to race and sex harassment and the development of legal remedies and policy reforms under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). While litigation under the ADA has addressed discrimination in public accommodations, employment, and education, Weber points out that the law has done little to combat disability harassment. He recommends that arguments based on unused provisions of the ADA should be developed and new legal remedies advanced to address the problem. Disability Harassment also draws on case law to explore special problems of harassment in the public schools, and closes with an appeal to judges and lawmakers for expanded legal protection against harassment.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KF480 .W43 2007 4th Floor, Main Collection and EbookISBN: 9780814794050Publication Date: 2007-03-01
A Disability History of the United States by
The first book to cover the entirety of disability history, from pre-1492 to the present Disability is not just the story of someone we love or the story of whom we may become; rather it is undoubtedly the story of our nation. Covering the entirety of US history from pre-1492 to the present, A Disability History of the United States is the first book to place the experiences of people with disabilities at the center of the American narrative. In many ways, it's a familiar telling. In other ways, however, it is a radical repositioning of US history. By doing so, the book casts new light on familiar stories, such as slavery and immigration, while breaking ground about the ties between nativism and oralism in the late nineteenth century and the role of ableism in the development of democracy. A Disability History of the United States pulls from primary-source documents and social histories to retell American history through the eyes, words, and impressions of the people who lived it. As historian and disability scholar Nielsen argues, to understand disability history isn't to narrowly focus on a series of individual triumphs but rather to examine mass movements and pivotal daily events through the lens of varied experiences. Throughout the book, Nielsen deftly illustrates how concepts of disability have deeply shaped the American experience-from deciding who was allowed to immigrate to establishing labor laws and justifying slavery and gender discrimination. Included are absorbing-at times horrific-narratives of blinded slaves being thrown overboard and women being involuntarily sterilized, as well as triumphant accounts of disabled miners organizing strikes and disability rights activists picketing Washington. Engrossing and profound, A Disability History of the United States fundamentally reinterprets how we view our nation's past- from a stifling master narrative to a shared history that encompasses us all.
Call Number: HV1553 .N54 2012 5th Floor, Main CollectionISBN: 9780807022023Publication Date: 2012-10-02
Disability Incarcerated: Imprisonment and Disability in the United States and Canada by
Disability Incarcerated gathers thirteen contributions from an impressive array of fields. Taken together, these essays assert that a complex understanding of disability is crucial to an understanding of incarceration, and that we must expand what has come to be called 'incarceration.' The chapters in this book examine a host of sites, such as prisons, institutions for people with developmental disabilities, psychiatric hospitals, treatment centers, special education, detention centers, and group homes; explore why various sites should be understood as incarceration; and discuss the causes and effects of these sites historically and currently. This volume includes a preface by Professor Angela Y. Davis and an afterword by Professor Robert McRuer.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: HV1568 .D5688 2014 5th Floor, Main Collection and EbookISBN: 9781137393234Publication Date: 2014-05-29
Disability Theory by
"Disability Theory is just the book we've been waiting for. Clear, cogent, compelling analyses of the tension between the 'social model' of disability and the material details of impairment; of identity politics and unstable identities; of capability rights and human interdependence; of disability and law, disability as masquerade, disability and sexuality, disability and democracy---they're all here, in beautifully crafted and intellectually startling essays. Disability Theory is a field-defining book: and if you're curious about what 'disability' has to do with 'theory,' it's just the book you've been waiting for, too." ---Michael Bérubé, Pennsylvania State University "Disability Theory is magisterially written, thoroughly researched, and polemically powerful. It will be controversial in a number of areas and will probably ruffle feathers both in disability studies as well as in realms of cultural theory. And that's all to the good." ---Michael Davidson, University of California, San Diego "Not only is Disability Theory a groundbreaking contribution to disability studies, it is also a bold, ambitious and much needed revision to a number of adjacent and overlapping fields including cultural studies, literary theory, queer theory, and critical race studies. Siebers has written a powerful manifesto that calls theory to account and forces readers to think beyond our comfort zones." ---Helen Deutsch, University of California, Los Angeles Intelligent, provocative, and challenging, Disability Theory revolutionizes the terrain of theory by providing indisputable evidence of the value and utility that a disability studies perspective can bring to key critical and cultural questions. Tobin Siebers persuasively argues that disability studies transfigures basic assumptions about identity, ideology, language, politics, social oppression, and the body. At the same time, he advances the emerging field of disability studies by putting its core issues into contact with signal thinkers in cultural studies, literary theory, queer theory, gender studies, and critical race theory. Tobin Siebers is V. L. Parrington Collegiate Professor, Professor of English Language and Literature, and Professor of Art and Design at the University of Michigan. A volume in the series Corporealities: Discourses of Disability Illustration: Pattern by Riva Lehrer, acrylic on panel, 18" X 24", 1995
Call Number: HV1568.2 .S54 2008 5th Floor, Main CollectionISBN: 9780472050390Publication Date: 2008-06-16
Disability Visibility: First-Person Stories from the Twenty-first Century by
ONE OF THE PROGRESSIVE'S BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR One in five people in the United States lives with a disability. Some disabilities are visible, others less apparent--but all are underrepresented in media and popular culture. Now, just in time for the thirtieth anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act, activist Alice Wong brings together this urgent, galvanizing collection of contemporary essays by disabled people. From Harriet McBryde Johnson's account of her debate with Peter Singer over her own personhood to original pieces by authors like Keah Brown and Haben Girma; from blog posts, manifestos, and eulogies to Congressional testimonies, and beyond: this anthology gives a glimpse into the rich complexity of the disabled experience, highlighting the passions, talents, and everyday lives of this community. It invites readers to question their own understandings. It celebrates and documents disability culture in the now. It looks to the future and the past with hope and love.
Call Number: HV1552.3 .D57 2020 5th Floor, Main CollectionISBN: 9781984899422Publication Date: 2020-06-30
Disfigured: On Fairy Tails, Disability, and Making Space by
Fairy tales shape how we see the world, so what happens when you identify more with the Beast than Beauty? If every disabled character is mocked and mistreated, how does the Beast ever imagine a happily-ever-after? Amanda Leduc looks at fairy tales from the Brothers Grimm to Disney, showing us how they influence our expectations and behaviour and linking the quest for disability rights to new kinds of stories that celebrate difference. "Leduc persuasively illustrates the power of stories to affect reality in this painstakingly researched and provocative study that invites us to consider our favorite folktales from another angle." --Sara Shreve, Library Journal
Call Number: PN3437 .L43 2020 4th Floor, Main CollectionISBN: 1552453952Publication Date: 2020-03-03
Enabling Acts: The Hidden Story of How the Americans with Disabilities Act Gave the Largest US Minority Its Rights by
The first significant book on the history and impact of the ADA-the "eyes on the prize" moment for disability rights The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) is the widest-ranging and most comprehensive piece of civil rights legislation ever passed in the United States, and it has become the model for disability-based laws around the world. Yet the surprising story behind how the bill came to be is little known. In this riveting account, acclaimed disability scholar Lennard J. Davis delivers the first behind-the-scenes and on-the-ground narrative of how a band of leftist Berkeley hippies managed to make an alliance with upper-crust, conservative Republicans to bring about a truly bipartisan bill. Based on extensive interviews with all the major players involved including legislators and activists, Davis recreates the dramatic tension of a story that is anything but a dry account of bills and speeches. Rather, it's filled with one indefatigable character after another, culminating in explosive moments when the hidden army of the disability community stages scenes like the iconic "Capitol Crawl" or an event some describe as "deaf Selma," when students stormed Gallaudet University demanding a "Deaf President Now!" From inside the offices of newly formed disability groups to secret breakfast meetings surreptitiously held outside the White House grounds, here we meet countless unsung characters, including political heavyweights and disability advocates on the front lines. "You want to fight?" an angered Ted Kennedy would shout in an upstairs room at the Capitol while negotiating the final details of the ADA. Congressman Tony Coelho, whose parents once thought him to be possessed by the devil because of his epilepsy, later became the bill's primary sponsor. There's Justin Dart, adorned in disability power buttons and his signature cowboy hat, who took to the road canvassing fifty states, and people like Patrisha Wright, also known as "The General," Arlene Myerson or "the brains," "architect" Bob Funk, and visionary Mary Lou Breslin, who left the hippie highlands of the West to pursue equal rights in the marble halls of DC. Published for the twenty-fifth anniversary of the ADA, Enabling Acts promises to ignite readers in a discussion of disability rights by documenting this "eyes on the prize" moment for tens of millions of American citizens.
Call Number: KF480 .D38 2015 4th Floor, Main CollectionISBN: 9780807071564Publication Date: 2015-07-14
Extraordinary Bodies: Figuring Physical Disability in American Culture and Literature by
Inaugurates a new field of disability studies by framing disability as a minority discourse rather than a medical one, revising oppressive narratives and revealing liberatory ones. The book examines disabled figures in Harriet Beecher Stowe's Uncle Tom's Cabin and Rebecca Harding Davis's Life in the Iron Mills, in African-American novels by Toni Morrison and Audre Lorde, and in the popular cultural ritual of the freak show.
Call Number: PS374.P44 T49 1997 4th Floor, Main CollectionISBN: 0231105169Publication Date: 1997-01-28
Haben: The Deafblind Woman Who Conquered Harvard Law by
The incredible life story of Haben Girma, the first Deafblind graduate of Harvard Law School, and her amazing journey from isolation to the world stage. Haben grew up spending summers with her family in the enchanting Eritrean city of Asmara. There, she discovered courage as she faced off against a bull she couldn't see, and found in herself an abiding strength as she absorbed her parents' harrowing experiences during Eritrea's thirty-year war with Ethiopia. Their refugee story inspired her to embark on a quest for knowledge, traveling the world in search of the secret to belonging. She explored numerous fascinating places, including Mali, where she helped build a school under the scorching Saharan sun. Her many adventures over the years range from the hair-raising to the hilarious. Haben defines disability as an opportunity for innovation. She learned non-visual techniques for everything from dancing salsa to handling an electric saw. She developed a text-to-braille communication system that created an exciting new way to connect with people. Haben pioneered her way through obstacles, graduated from Harvard Law, and now uses her talents to advocate for people with disabilities. Haben takes readers through a thrilling game of blind hide-and-seek in Louisiana, a treacherous climb up an iceberg in Alaska, and a magical moment with President Obama at The White House. Warm, funny, thoughtful, and uplifting, this captivating memoir is a testament to one woman's determination to find the keys to connection. "This autobiography by a millennial Helen Keller teems with grace and grit." -- O Magazine "A profoundly important memoir." -- The Times ** As featured in The Wall Street Journal, People, and on The TODAY Show ** A New York Times "New & Noteworthy" Pick ** An O Magazine "Book of the Month" Pick ** A Publishers Weekly Bestseller **
Call Number: KF373.G567 A3 2019 1st Floor, Popular BooksISBN: 1538728729Publication Date: 2019-08-06
No Pity: People with Disabilities Forging and New Civil Rights Movement by
People with disabilities forging the newest and last human rights movement of the century.
Call Number: HV1553 .S52 1993 5th Floor, Main CollectionISBN: 9780812924121Publication Date: 1994-10-25
Nothing About Us Without Us: Disability Oppression and Empowerment by
James Charlton has produced a ringing indictment of disability oppression, which, he says, is rooted in degradation, dependency, and powerlessness and is experienced in some form by five hundred million persons throughout the world who have physical, sensory, cognitive, or developmental disabilities. Nothing About Us Without Us is the first book in the literature on disability to provide a theoretical overview of disability oppression that shows its similarities to, and differences from, racism, sexism, and colonialism. Charlton's analysis is illuminated by interviews he conducted over a ten-year period with disability rights activists throughout the Third World, Europe, and the United States. Charlton finds an antidote for dependency and powerlessness in the resistance to disability oppression that is emerging worldwide. His interviews contain striking stories of self-reliance and empowerment evoking the new consciousness of disability rights activists. As a latecomer among the world's liberation movements, the disability rights movement will gain visibility and momentum from Charlton's elucidation of its history and its political philosophy of self-determination, which is captured in the title of his book. Nothing About Us Without Us expresses the conviction of people with disabilities that they know what is best for them. Charlton's combination of personal involvement and theoretical awareness assures greater understanding of the disability rights movement.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: HV1568 .C37 2000 5th Floor, Main Collection and EbookISBN: 0520925440Publication Date: 1998-03-27
One More Theory about Happiness by
"In these lyrical, searing pages, Guest manages to break our hearts and put them back together again." --Ann Hood In the tradition of Lucy Grealy's Autobiography of a Face, One More Theory About Happiness is a bold and original memoir from the acclaimed, Whiting Award-winning poet Paul Guest, author of My Index of Horrifying Knowledge. A remarkable account of the accident that left him a quadriplegic, and his struggle to find independence, love, and a life on his own terms, One More Theory About Happiness has been praised by Charles Bock, author of Beautiful Children, as, "Smart and honest and clear eyed and above all, humane."
Call Number: PS3607.U47 Z46 2010 4th Floor, Main CollectionISBN: 9780061685170Publication Date: 2010-05-04
Open Your Eyes: Deaf Studies Talking by
This groundbreaking volume introduces readers to the key concepts and debates in deaf studies, offering perspectives on the relevance and richness of deaf ways of being in the world. In Open Your Eyes, leading and emerging scholars, the majority of whom are deaf, consider physical and cultural boundaries of deaf places and probe the complex intersections of deaf identities with gender, sexuality, disability, family, and race. Together, they explore the role of sensory perception in constructing community, redefine literacy in light of signed languages, and delve into the profound medical, social, and political dimensions of the disability label often assigned to deafness. Moving beyond proving the existence of deaf culture, Open Your Eyes shows how the culture contributes vital insights on issues of identity, language, and power, and, ultimately, challenges our culture's obsession with normalcy. Contributors: Benjamin Bahan, Gallaudet U; Douglas C. Baynton, U of Iowa; Frank Bechter, U of Chicago; MJ Bienvenu, Gallaudet U; Brenda Jo Brueggemann, Ohio State U; Lennard J. Davis, U of Illinois, Chicago; Lindsay Dunn, Gallaudet U; Lawrence Fleischer, California State U, Northrid≥ Genie Gertz, California State U, Northrid≥ Hilde Haualand, FAFO Institute; Robert Hoffmeister, Boston U; Tom Humphries, U of California, San Diego; Arlene Blumenthal Kelly, Gallaudet U; Marlon Kuntze, U of California, Berkeley; Paddy Ladd, U of Bristol; Harlan Lane, Northeastern U; Joseph J. Murray, U of Iowa; Carol Padden, U of California, San Diego. H-Dirksen L. Bauman is professor and director of the graduate program in Deaf Studies at Gallaudet University. He is coeditor of Signing the Body Poetic: Essays in American Sign Language Literature, executive editor of the Deaf Studies Digital Journal, and executive producer and codirector of the documentary film Audism Unveiled.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: HV2380 .D43 2002 5th Floor, Main Collection and EbookISBN: 9780816646197Publication Date: 2008-01-08
The Pretty One: On Life, Pop Culture, Disability, and Other Reasons to Fall in Love with Me by
From the disability rights advocate and creator of the #DisabledAndCute viral campaign, a thoughtful, inspiring, and charming collection of essays exploring what it means to be black and disabled in a mostly able-bodied white America. Keah Brown loves herself, but that hadn't always been the case. Born with cerebral palsy, her greatest desire used to be normalcy and refuge from the steady stream of self-hate society strengthened inside her. But after years of introspection and reaching out to others in her community, she has reclaimed herself and changed her perspective. In The Pretty One, Brown gives a contemporary and relatable voice to the disabled--so often portrayed as mute, weak, or isolated. With clear, fresh, and light-hearted prose, these essays explore everything from her relationship with her able-bodied identical twin (called "the pretty one" by friends) to navigating romance; her deep affinity for all things pop culture--and her disappointment with the media's distorted view of disability; and her declaration of self-love with the viral hashtag #DisabledAndCute. By "smashing stigmas, empowering her community, and celebrating herself" (Teen Vogue), Brown and The Pretty One aims to expand the conversation about disability and inspire self-love for people of all backgrounds.
Call Number: RC388 .B763 2019 4th Floor, Main CollectionISBN: 9781982100544Publication Date: 2019-08-06
Sex and Disability by
The title of this collection of essays, Sex and Disability, unites two terms that the popular imagination often regards as incongruous. The major texts in sexuality studies, including queer theory, rarely mention disability, and foundational texts in disability studies do not discuss sex in much detail. What if "sex" and "disability" were understood as intimately related concepts? And what if disabled people were seen as both subjects and objects of a range of erotic desires and practices? These are among the questions that this collection's contributors engage. From multiple perspectives--including literary analysis, ethnography, and autobiography--they consider how sex and disability come together and how disabled people negotiate sex and sexual identities in ableist and heteronormative culture. Queering disability studies, while also expanding the purview of queer and sexuality studies, these essays shake up notions about who and what is sexy and sexualizable, what counts as sex, and what desire is. At the same time, they challenge conceptions of disability in the dominant culture, queer studies, and disability studies. Contributors. Chris Bell, Michael Davidson, Lennard J. Davis, Michel Desjardins, Lezlie Frye, Rachael Groner, Kristen Harmon, Michelle Jarman, Alison Kafer, Riva Lehrer, Nicole Markotić, Robert McRuer, Anna Mollow, Rachel O'Connell, Russell Shuttleworth, David Serlin, Tobin Siebers, Abby L. Wilkerson
Call Number: HQ30.5 .S46 2012 5th Floor, Main CollectionISBN: 9780822351542Publication Date: 2012-01-04
Sitting Pretty: The View From My Ordinary Resilient Disabled Body by
A memoir-in-essays from disability advocate and creator of the Instagram account @sitting_pretty Rebekah Taussig, processing a lifetime of memories to paint a beautiful, nuanced portrait of a body that looks and moves differently than most. Growing up as a paralyzed girl during the 90s and early 2000s, Rebekah Taussig only saw disability depicted as something monstrous (The Hunchback of Notre Dame), inspirational (Helen Keller), or angelic (Forrest Gump). None of this felt right; and as she got older, she longed for more stories that allowed disability to be complex and ordinary, uncomfortable and fine, painful and fulfilling. Writing about the rhythms and textures of what it means to live in a body that doesn't fit, Rebekah reflects on everything from the complications of kindness and charity, living both independently and dependently, experiencing intimacy, and how the pervasiveness of ableism in our everyday media directly translates to everyday life. Disability affects all of us, directly or indirectly, at one point or another. By exploring this truth in poignant and lyrical essays, Taussig illustrates the need for more stories and more voices to understand the diversity of humanity. Sitting Pretty challenges us as a society to be patient and vigilant, practical and imaginative, kind and relentless, as we set to work to write an entirely different story.
Call Number: RC406.P3 T38 2020 4th Floor, Main CollectionISBN: 9780062936790Publication Date: 2020-08-25
Stigma: Notes of the Management of Spoiled Identity by
From the author ofThe Presentation of Self in Everyday Life, Stigma is analyzes a person's feelings about himself and his relationship to people whom society calls "normal." Stigma is an illuminating excursion into the situation of persons who are unable to conform to standards that society calls normal. Disqualified from full social acceptance, they are stigmatized individuals. Physically deformed people, ex-mental patients, drug addicts, prostitutes, or those ostracized for other reasons must constantly strive to adjust to their precarious social identities. Their image of themselves must daily confront and be affronted by the image which others reflect back to them. Drawing extensively on autobiographies and case studies, sociologist Erving Goffman analyzes the stigmatized person's feelings about himself and his relationship to "normals" He explores the variety of strategies stigmatized individuals employ to deal with the rejection of others, and the complex sorts of information about themselves they project. In Stigma the interplay of alternatives the stigmatized individual must face every day is brilliantly examined by one of America's leading social analysts.
Call Number: BF727.H3 G6 5th Floor, Main CollectionISBN: 9780671622442Publication Date: 1986-06-15
The Ugly Laws: Disability in Public by
The murky history behind municipal laws criminalizing disability In the late-nineteenth and early-twentieth centuries, municipal laws targeting "unsightly beggars" sprang up in cities across America. Seeming to criminalize disability and thus offering a visceral example of discrimination, these "ugly laws" have become a sort of shorthand for oppression in disability studies, law, and the arts. In this watershed study of the ugly laws, Susan M. Schweik uncovers the murky history behind the laws, situating the varied legislation in its historical context and exploring in detail what the laws meant. Illustrating how the laws join the history of the disabled and the poor, Schweik not only gives the reader a deeper understanding of the ugly laws and the cities where they were generated, she locates the laws at a crucial intersection of evolving and unstable concepts of race, nation, sex, class, and gender. Moreover, she explores the history of resistance to the ordinances, using the often harrowing life stories of those most affected by their passage. Moving to the laws' more recent history, Schweik analyzes the shifting cultural memory of the ugly laws, examining how they have been used--and misused--by academics, activists, artists, lawyers, and legislators.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KF480 .S29 2009 4th Floor, Main Collection and EbookISBN: 081474057XPublication Date: 2009-05-01
We're Not Broken by
"This book is a message from autistic people to their parents, friends, teachers, coworkers and doctors showing what life is like on the spectrum. It's also my love letter to autistic people. For too long, we have been forced to navigate a world where all the road signs are written in another language." With a reporter's eye and an insider's perspective, Eric Garcia shows what it's like to be autistic across America. Garcia began writing about autism because he was frustrated by the media's coverage of it; the myths that the disorder is caused by vaccines, the narrow portrayals of autistic people as white men working in Silicon Valley. His own life as an autistic person didn't look anything like that. He is Latino, a graduate of the University of North Carolina, and works as a journalist covering politics in Washington D.C. Garcia realized he needed to put into writing what so many autistic people have been saying for years; autism is a part of their identity, they don't need to be fixed. In We're Not Broken, Garcia uses his own life as a springboard to discuss the social and policy gaps that exist in supporting those on the spectrum. From education to healthcare, he explores how autistic people wrestle with systems that were not built with them in mind. At the same time, he shares the experiences of all types of autistic people, from those with higher support needs, to autistic people of color, to those in the LGBTQ community. In doing so, Garcia gives his community a platform to articulate their own needs, rather than having others speak for them, which has been the standard for far too long.
Call Number: RC553.A88 G364 2021 4th Floor, Main CollectionISBN: 9781328587848Publication Date: 2021-08-03
Recommended Authors
Search for these authors in Search@UW
- Temple Grandin
- Judith Heurmann
- Haben Girma
- Christy Brown
- Stephen Hawking
- Sandra Gail Lambert
- Nancy Mairs
- Kenny Fries
Fiction
Between Fitness and Death by
Long before the English became involved in the African slave trade, they imagined Africans as monstrous and deformed beings. The English drew on pre-existing European ideas about monstrosity and deformity to argue that Africans were a monstrous race, suspended between human and animal, and as such only fit for servitude. Joining blackness to disability transformed English ideas about defective bodies and minds. It also influenced understandings of race and ability even as it shaped the embodied reality of people enslaved in the British Caribbean. Stefanie Hunt-Kennedy provides a three-pronged analysis of disability in the context of Atlantic slavery. First, she examines the connections of enslavement and representations of disability and the parallel development of English anti-black racism. From there, she moves from realms of representation to reality in order to illuminate the physical, emotional, and psychological impairments inflicted by slavery and endured by the enslaved. Finally, she looks at slave law as a system of enforced disablement.Audacious and powerful, Between Fitness and Death is a groundbreaking journey into the entwined histories of racism and ableism.
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: HT1092 .H86 2020 5th Floor, Main Collection and AudiobookISBN: 9780252043192Publication Date: 2020-04-13
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by
Narrated by a 15-year-old autistic savant obsessed with Sherlock Holmes, this dazzling novel weaves together an old-fashioned mystery, a contemporary coming-of-age story, and a fascinating excursion into a mind incapable of processing emotions.
Call Number: PR6108.32 .C87 2003 4th Floor, Main CollectionISBN: 9780385509459Publication Date: 2003-06-17
The Deck of Omens by
This thrilling fantasy will draw in fans of The Raven Cycle and Stranger Things, as the fearless May Hawthorne finds danger waiting for her at every corner. Though the Beast is seemingly subdued for now, a new threat lurks in Four Paths: a corruption seeping from the Gray into the forest. And with the other Founders preoccupied by their tangled alliances and fraying relationships, only May Hawthorne seems to realize the danger. But saving the town she loves means seeking aid from the person her family despises most--her father, Ezra Bishop. May's father isn't the only newcomer in town--Isaac Sullivan's older brother has also returned, seeking forgiveness for the role he played in Isaac's troubled past. But Isaac isn't ready to let go of his family's history, especially when that history might hold the key that he and Violet Saunders need to destroy the Gray and the monster within it. Harper Carlisle isn't ready to forgive, either. Two devastating betrayals have left her isolated from her family and uncertain who to trust. As the corruption becomes impossible to ignore, Harper must learn to control her newfound powers in order to protect Four Paths. But the only people who can help her do that are the ones who have hurt her the most. With the veil between the Gray and the town growing ever thinner, the Founder descendants must put their grievances with one another aside to stop the corruption and kill the Beast once and for all. But the monster they truly need to slay may never been the Beast . . .
Call Number: HERMAN Devour bk.2 2nd Floor, EMC Young Adult FictioISBN: 9781368025270Publication Date: 2020-04-21
The Edge of Anything by
Set in the mountainous outskirts of Asheville, North Carolina, The Edge of Anything follows the start of an unexpected friendship between Sage and Len. Len is a loner photographer haunted by a guilty secret that prevents her from creating quality work, while Sage is a popular high school volleyball player desperate to find a way around her sudden medical disqualification. Both girls want to rediscover their lost talents and win scholarships to the colleges of their dreams, and a chance encounter between the two in their high school's parking lot sparks an unlikely friendship. Strengthened by the newfound power of their deep bond, the girls begin to face their inner demons and exit the shadow of the past. But when Len catches Sage endangering her health by practising volleyball for the upcoming YMCA championship, a fight erupts and threatens to unravel all the progress the girls have made. Written by a successful author making her YA debut, The Edge of Anything explores the transformative power of friendship and how it can help you find yourself and the goodness in life, even when everything feels broken.
Call Number: CARPEN Edge 2020 2nd Floor, EMC Young Adult FictionISBN: 9780762467587Publication Date: 2020-03-24
Girl Gone Viral by
Perfect for fans of Warcross and Black Mirror, Girl Gone Viral is the inventive and timely story of a seventeen-year-old coder's catapult to stardom. For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire worlds from scratch- Mars craters, shimmering lakes, any virtual experience her heart desires. But she can't code her dad back into her life. When he disappeared after her tenth birthday, leaving only a cryptic note, Opal tried desperately to find him. And when he never turned up, she enrolled at a boarding school for technical prodigies and tried to forget. Until now. Because WAVE, the world's biggest virtual reality platform, has announced a contest where the winner gets to meet its billionaire founder. The same billionaire who worked closely with Opal's dad. The one she always believed might know where he went. The one who maybe even murdered him. What begins as a small data hack to win the contest spirals out of control when Opal goes viral, digging her deeper into a hole of lies, hacks, and manipulation. How far will Opal go for the answers--or is it the attention--she's wanted for years?
Call Number: PZ7.1.A343 2019 4th Floor, Main CollectionISBN: 9780425289914Publication Date: 2020-08-25
A List of Cages by
This "gripping and moving" story of two foster brothers sharply examines the impact of loss, grief, and abuse (Emma Donohgue, bestselling author of Room) -- and celebrates the power of friendship. When Adam Blake lands the best elective ever in his senior year, serving as an aide to the school psychologist, he thinks he's got it made. Sure, it means a lot of sitting around, which isn't easy for a guy with ADHD, but he can't complain, since he gets to spend the period texting all his friends. Then the doctor asks him to track down the troubled freshman who keeps dodging her, and Adam discovers that the boy is Julian -- the foster brother he hasn't seen in five years. Adam is ecstatic to be reunited. At first, Julian seems like the boy he once knew. He's still kind hearted. He still writes stories and loves picture books meant for little kids. But as they spend more time together, Adam realizes that Julian is keeping secrets, like where he hides during the middle of the day, and what's really going on inside his house. Adam is determined to help him, but his involvement could cost both boys their lives. First-time novelist Robin Roe relied on life experience when writing this exquisite, gripping story featuring two lionhearted characters.
Call Number: PZ7.1.R6396 2017 4th Floor, Main CollectionISBN: 9781484763803Publication Date: 2017-01-10
Love from a to Z by
A Today Show Read with Jenna Book Club Pick A School Library Journal Best Young Adult Book of 2019 A YALSA 2020 Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers From William C. Morris Award Finalist S.K. Ali comes an unforgettable romance that is part The Sun Is Also a Star mixed with Anna and the French Kiss, following two Muslim teens who meet during a spring break trip. A marvel: something you find amazing. Even ordinary-amazing. Like potatoes--because they make French fries happen. Like the perfect fries Adam and his mom used to make together. An oddity: whatever gives you pause. Like the fact that there are hateful people in the world. Like Zayneb's teacher, who won't stop reminding the class how "bad" Muslims are. But Zayneb, the only Muslim in class, isn't bad. She's angry. When she gets suspended for confronting her teacher, and he begins investigating her activist friends, Zayneb heads to her aunt's house in Doha, Qatar, for an early start to spring break. Fueled by the guilt of getting her friends in trouble, she resolves to try out a newer, "nicer" version of herself in a place where no one knows her. Then her path crosses with Adam's. Since he got diagnosed with multiple sclerosis in November, Adam's stopped going to classes, intent, instead, on perfecting the making of things. Intent on keeping the memory of his mom alive for his little sister. Adam's also intent on keeping his diagnosis a secret from his grieving father. Alone, Adam and Zayneb are playing roles for others, keeping their real thoughts locked away in their journals. Until a marvel and an oddity occurs... Marvel: Adam and Zayneb meeting. Oddity: Adam and Zayneb meeting.
Call Number: ALI Love 2019 2nd Floor, EMC YA FictionISBN: 9781534442726Publication Date: 2019-04-30
Not If I See You First by
In the tradition of Gayle Forman and John Green comes this extraordinary YA debut about a blind teen girl navigating life and love in high school. Parker Grant doesn't need 20/20 vision to see right through you. That's why she created the Rules: Don't treat her any differently just because she's blind, and never take advantage. There will be no second chances. Just ask Scott Kilpatrick, the boy who broke her heart. When Scott suddenly reappears in her life after being gone for years, Parker knows there's only one way to react--shun him so hard it hurts. She has enough on her mind already, like trying out for the track team (that's right, her eyes don't work but her legs still do), doling out tough-love advice to her painfully naive classmates, and giving herself gold stars for every day she hasn't cried since her dad's death three months ago. But avoiding her past quickly proves impossible, and the more Parker learns about what really happened--both with Scott, and her dad--the more she starts to question if things are always as they seem. Maybe, just maybe, some Rules are meant to be broken. Combining a fiercely engaging voice with true heart, debut author Eric Lindstrom's Not If I See You First illuminates those blind spots that we all have in life, whether visually impaired or not.
Call Number: Request from another UW System LibraryISBN: 9780316259859Publication Date: 2015-12-01
Pages I Never Wrote by
A candid, relatable Queer Coming-of-Age YA Novel featuring an LGBT University Romance and themes of disability, diversity, creativity, self-discovery and academic achievement. "Why would he want to date me? I can't even hold a pen." Luke has good friends, a passion for books, and dyspraxia, a disorder that, ironically, makes him unable to write. He also has a hatred for anyone who tries to help him. Yet when he fails his first term at university due to his learning difficulties, he's forced to get support. That's how Nate, an excitable last-year student, becomes his self-proclaimed personal tutor and starts writing down essays for him, as a distraction from his own quarter-life crisis. But Luke's writing ambitions are not just academic. He dreams of penning a novel, although that's never been a real possibility. Until now. Will the two boys manage to write a successful love story together? Find out in this coming-of-age novel dedicated to all late bloomers. Reviews "Incredibly relatable. Such quintessential student experiences... We've all been there." - total.boron, FictionPress "One sign of good storytelling for me is when I'm right there with the character, like I was with Luke, hyperventilating, only slightly! The characters are likable. An eclectic bunch, this gang. I've enjoyed the story and writing." - KrissKringle, FictionPress "It was so freaking good! I'm seriously so inspired to go and write my own story." - Flowersandlillies, FictionPress "How obvious Nate is and how oblivious Luke is is what adds spice to the story. Gotta get me a relationship like dat." - excahuseamwah, Wattpad "Awkward and gay?? 10/10 I'm a huge fan." - SunshineSilas, Wattpad "All the thoughts and self-doubt made me rotfl. We've all been there when meeting someone new. It's all so familiar." - KevinPaterson, Wattpad "Yo I can't stop reading apparently. This story is awesome. If I could I would just read all day and night." - Cole_Perry1204, Wattpad "I love how raw this story is. It feels like a movie. I can hear the background music." - dans_allyson, Wattpad "THIS IS SO GOOD LIKE I ACTUALLY AM IN LOVE DHIQKWNSNCJWO." - furk420, Wattpad "I'm immediately hooked. I like this story so much." - Hybynka, Wattpad "This is so freaking good! There's only 2 stories on this platform that have gotten me as invested as I am in this story." - DancingMakesStories, Wattpad "This is so sweet and cute." - jase_face, Wattpad "OH MY GOD HOW DO U WRITE SO GOOD I WOULD LITERALLY HUG YOU IF U WERE HERE RIGHT NOW I LOVE THIS SO MUCH." - SubatomicAl1en, FictionPress "This is so sweet! I love the writing style; it's not too prose but it's not vague, and the story itself is realistic." - Guest, FictionPress Ranked #2 in disability on Wattpad (19/04/2020) #49 in collegeromance on Wattpad (13/03/2020)#74 in guyxguy on Wattpad (13/03/2020)#80 in british on Wattpad (13/03/2020)#89 in gayboys on Wattpad (13/03/2020) Excerpt All my life I wanted to be seen as normal. My parents used to remind me every morning before leaving for school. Don't let them notice. Don't be a burden to the other students. Don't ask the teacher for help too much. Just act normal. Be normal. And now I'm holding a piece of paper that says exactly the opposite. I'm not 'normal'. I need help. I really don't like needing help.
Call Number: Copy being orderedISBN: 9798638817787Publication Date: 2020-06-19
Staring Back by
In this groundbreaking and far-reaching collection, writers such as Andre Dubus, Stanley Elkin, and Adrienne Rich, confront what it means to be disabled in our society. Through the vehicles of nonfiction, poetry, fiction, and drama, Staring Back is the first anthology to open the landscape of the disabled experience for exploration and discussion.
Call Number: PS508.P56 S73 1997 4th Floor, Main CollectionISBN: 0452279135Publication Date: 1997-10-01
Starling Days by
The moving new novel by the author of Harmless Like You, a New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice and NPR Great Read On their first date, Mina told Oscar that she was bisexual, vegetarian, and on meds. He married her anyhow. A challenge to be met. She had low days, sure, but manageable. But now, maybe not so much . . . Mina is standing on the George Washington Bridge late at night, staring over the edge, when a patrol car drives up. She tries to convince the policeman she's not about to jump, but he doesn't believe her. Oscar is called to pick her up. With the idea of leaving New York for London--a place for Mina "to learn the floorplan of this sadness"--Oscar arranges a move. In London, Mina, a classicist, tries grappling with her mental health issues by making lists. Of WOMEN WHO SURVIVED--Penelope, Psyche, Leda. Iphigenia, but only in one of the tellings. Of things that make her HAPPY--enamel coffee cups. But what else? She at last finds a beam of light in Phoebe, and friendship and attraction blossom until Oscar and Mina's complicated love is tested. A gorgeously wrought novel, variously about love, mythology, mental illness, Japanese beer, and the times we need to seek out milder psychological climates, Rowan Hisayo Buchanan's Starling Days--written in exquisite prose rich with lightly ironic empathy--is a complex and compelling work of fiction by a singularly gifted young writer.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: PS3602.U2512 S74 2020 1st Floor, Popular Books and EbookISBN: 9781419743597Publication Date: 2020-04-07
Still Alice by
From New York Times bestselling author and neuroscientist Lisa Genova comes the definitive--and illuminating--novel about Alzheimer's disease. Now a major motion picture starring Oscar winner Julianne Moore! Look for Lisa Genova's latest novel Inside the O'Briens. Alice Howland is proud of the life she worked so hard to build. At fifty years old, she's a cognitive psychology professor at Harvard and a world-renowned expert in linguistics with a successful husband and three grown children. When she becomes increasingly disoriented and forgetful, a tragic diagnosis changes her life--and her relationship with her family and the world--forever. As she struggles to cope with Alzheimer's, she learns that her worth is comprised of far more than her ability to remember. At once beautiful and terrifying, Still Alice is a moving and vivid depiction of life with early-onset Alzheimer's disease that is as compelling as A Beautiful Mind and as unforgettable as Ordinary People.
Call Number: PS3607.E55 S75 2014 4th Floor, Main CollectionISBN: 1501106422Publication Date: 2014-12-02
YouTube Videos
- Disability - How you See Me (2017)
Good Captioning - I Am Me (2015)
Captioning has some errors - The Silent Child (2020)
Accurate Captioning - Don't Underestimate Me (2018)
Accurate Captioning, Signing available as well - 8 Majorly Successful People With Disabilities (2016)
No Voice audio. It's music background with captioned screens.
Ted Talks
- Changing the Way We Talk About Disability (Amy Oulton)
(Ted Talk: 14:50) - My Disability is Not Yours to Cure (Noah Bukowski)
(TED Talk: 10:08)
Movies/TV Series/Documentaries
- Special A young gay man with cerebral palsy branches out from his insular existence in hopes of finally going after the life he wants.
- Crip Camp A groundbreaking summer camp galvanizes a group of teens with disabilities to help build a movement, forging a new path toward greater equality.
- Ray A young man lost his sight at the age of 7 due to glaucoma but still went on to realize his talent in music and became one of the most successful, influential, loved music artists of all time
- Breathe A true love story for a couple that refused to give up the devastating disease of polio that ended up being paralyzing. Together a wheelchair was developed that became a model for similar equipment in the future.
- I Am Sam A mentally handicapped man fights for custody for his daughter and in the process teaches his cold hearted lawyer the value of love and family.
- Sound and Fury: Six Years Later Update on the families and featured characters
- Shameless: The Art of Disability Documentary on disability and art
- A New State of Mind: Ending the Stigma of Mental Illness State of Calirfornia PSA/Documentary on mental health awareness
- Willowbrook: The Last Great Disgrace Documentary exposing the horrors of Willowbrook state institution
- Unforgotten: Twenty-Five Years After Willowbrook Documentary following up on the lives of individuals who were institutionalized at Willowbrook
- Different From You: Unfulfilled Promises to the Mentally Ill
Documentaries and Non-Fiction Videos, 1st Floor HV4493 .D45 2002
Audio Series/Podcasts
- The "D" Word: Disability (Glass Half Full Podcast: 21:07)
Websites/Blogs/Miscellaneous
Scholarly Articles
- Being different or similar? An exploration of inclusive education from the point of view of French adolescents Request this article. lthough established for decades now, inclusive education remains a complex process that creates difficulties for the educators and children involved. With a collaborative and comprehensive focus, this study examined the point of view of 12 French secondary-school students about inclusion upon the recent opening of a localised educational inclusion unit (ULIS) at their school. The students' point of view was captured by means of a participative photography workshop entitled "Photovoice." The photos and their associated verbatim comments were analysed according to two indicators: social participation and pedagogical accessibility. With respect to social participation, the results revealed no distinction between the students, whether or not they have a disability. With respect to pedagogical accessibility, the students acknowledged that the ULIS supports access to learning for students with a disability. Points of interest This study sought to build knowledge of inclusive education, particularly in schools, by focusing on the point of view of French secondary-school students. It aims to identify the barriers and facilitators related to the implementation of inclusive education. We consider inclusive education as a developmental process of all students. It involves the creation of a society that fights exclusion and marginalisation. Faced with the lack of relevant information given from the point of view of students, we wanted to give them a voice and thereby highlight the impact of implementing inclusive education. This data encourages reflection on inclusive education with the goal of helping all education professionals take into account diversity.
- Exploring Disability Inclusion in Organizations through Managerial Lens This study shows that top management commitment, inclusive culture, supportive workplace and disability-HRM fit are the major factors affecting the inclusion of disabled persons in the workplace.
- National disability insurance scheme: is it creating an ordinary life for adults with intellectual disability? Request this article. A key goal of the NDIS, the federally funding individualised funding scheme for people with a disability in Australia, is to facilitate an ordinary life for them in their communities. This study examined family perceptions of the contribution NDIS made to create an ordinary life for their adult member with intellectual disability. Semi-structured interviews were conducted with 20 families. The families found this to be a complex process in that while the move to the new funding system supported some elements of a life more aligned to that of similar aged peers, there were also a number of missed opportunities. The opportunities that were available to the adult with intellectual disability were affected by stakeholders' differing views of disability. NDIS presents an opportunity to continue to build towards enabling people with a disability to make their own choices and, with support when needed, build a life similar to their peers. Points of interest The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) is the new federal individualised funding scheme for people with a disability in Australia. The National Disability Insurance Scheme gives people with a disability their own funding. This helps them to be able to make their own choices about what they want to do and what support they need. The National Disability Insurance Scheme hopes to support an ordinary life for people with a disability in their communities. This study investigated how it is working for adults with intellectual disability. It showed that it is a complicated process. Some aspects of the National Disability Insurance Scheme are working well but there are missed opportunities. There is a need to keep talking about how people think about disability so we can understand the impact different views have on the National Disability Insurance Scheme planning and outcomes for adults with intellectual disability.
