Why don't some features or links in the database connect when I'm in a database?

Check Pop-up Blocker
Some databases use pop up windows to display search results or extra options.

If a pop up blocker seems to be affecting your searching, turn the blocker off.  If the search then works properly, turn the blocker back on and configure it to allow pop ups on that specific site.

Partial Subscriptions to a Vendor or Database 

• For some databases, the Library subscribes to only a portion of the database.  You may see options that are not available through our license agreement, but when trying to connect, you get an error message or a login screen.
• A databases with partial subscription is: Europa World Yearbook
• If you have experienced this and question whether a database you are using fits this category, contact the Reference staff.

Limited Number of Users at One Time

• For some databases, the number of people who may use that database at the same time is limited. These tend to be expensive and subject-specific databases, sometimes shared with UW-Madison or the UW System.
• Some databases with limited users are: Web of Science and FSTA Food Science and Technology Abstracts.
• Various messages appear depending on the database.  They will indicate something about licensing or trying again later.
• For these, you will need to try again after a reasonable amount of time for someone else to finish searching.
• If you have waited a few minutes, tried again, and still did not get into the database, consider contacting the Reference staff as to a further issue of nonconnectivity.
• When using a Limited User database, please be sure to log off so it will not tie up a connection for someone else.

Personal or Institutional Firewalls
These may hamper access to all features of a database

When I try to connect to a library database that is listed in my Canvas class site, I can't access it. How do I get access?

Sometimes the way an instructor sets up their class site may be incompatible with how the library has to apply legal access to databases. Notify the instructor of the problem; library staff are happy to assist the instructor in correcting the links.

• If a problem occurs go to the Library Home Page.   
  • For finding articles, click on the Find Databases link, then select a database.
  • For e-books, click on the Stout Books/Media dropdown in Search@UW and search for your e-book titles or other library materials.
  • You should then be prompted for your Stout username and password on Campus Authentication screen.

I still can't connect-- is there any alternative source for databases?

• Wisconsin Residents have the ability to connect to Badgerlink, a state-supported website that allows access to some EbscoHost and other databases. 
• Free Open Access Databases

Although these are useful in an emergency situation, the above resources may not provide the Stout mission-specific resources or full text that the 200+ library databases provide.  Stout users should continue to pursue access to the Library's subscription databases.

I am getting the message "File missing: docs/suspend.htm" when trying to use the databases What does this mean?

• The above error message is displayed when a user downloads large amounts of material in a short space of time from our electronic databases or journals. There are restrictions in our proxy server to prevent excessive downloading by robots or other spoof mechanisms.  These restrictions are necessary because of our license agreement with vendors. 
• When you see this message, it means you have exceeded downloading the allowed 300MB in 15 minute server policy restriction (remember most PDFs in our electronic databases or journals are about 2-4 MB each, which roughly equates to 50 articles being downloaded in a 15 minute period). If you wait for about 2 hours though, your connection should be restored. If you need immediate assistance between the hours of 8am and 4:30pm, please contact the reference desk at reference@uwstout.edu or 715-232-1215